Exploring the wonderful world given to us.

Sigma EX DG 24-70mm f2.8 on Canon 7D


For this blog I am going to show you an older lens made by Sigma.

I picked up my Sigma EX DG 24-70mm f2.8 a few years ago off ebay for about £250. I got it for my 400D to use for weddings because I couldn’t afford a Canon 24-70mm f2.8 L lens.

Here is a stock image of the lens, as you can see, there’s no HSM on this lens, and the reason Sigma decided to have an 82mm filter thread on the top is beyond me, a 72mm thread would have worked perfectly fine. Also, on the Canon version, to switch from AF to MF you have to click the switch near the mount and also pull the focus ring back to get MF. The reverse zoom is also a little odd but I’m not going to review this for photography purposes.

From the standpoint of people looking for a zoom lens for fixed aperture for their HD-DSLR this is a great lens.

1. The price is great if you can get one second hand $350 off eBay for example.

2. The focus ring is really quite good. I’ve video on this lens, and racking focus and shooting on the run is quite nice with this lens

3. Being fixed aperture means you can zoom without having the exposure change

4. The bokeh on it looks nice in my opinion.

5. The f2.8 gives a nice shallow DOF

*Some video examples

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRjO4bIu8t8 – I shot most of this on my 7D with this lens

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZIYA2-Pr38 – Again a lot of the footage used here was shot on my 7D with this Sigma Lens

There are some drawback on this lens, as mentioned, another is the included lens hood is a little worthless, and some people don’t like the lens flare this lens creates, I don’t see a big problem with it.

So all in all, I would recommend this lens for videoDSLR use, and would be less quick to recommend it for photography, but all in all its a great lens to start off with. I’ve personally shot thousands of pictures using this lens.

Until next time

MJ Matsen

Leave a Reply

